According to the CDC, more than 1,000 people are injured in a distracted driving accident every day. And, an average of 9 people are killed each day because of someone texting and driving. Despite these numbers, people still insist on using handheld devices while driving. This includes things like cell phones, iPads, and other devices. When people take their eyes off the road for just 2-3 seconds, it’s like they’re driving across a football field with their eyes closed. Because of these statistics, many states have implemented laws that illegalize the use of cell phones while driving, laws like Georgia’s hands-free law.
Last year, Georgia became the 16th state to enact a hands-free law. While people can still use cell phones while in the car, they can only do so under certain circumstances. Basically, the legislature wanted to cut down on the number of distracted driving accidents. So, the put a law in place that forbids people from holding or operating their phones will driving.
One of the reasons this is so important is because distracted driving accidents are very serious. No matter how fast a driver is going, when they crash into another vehicle, the results can be disastrous. Since they aren’t paying attention to the road, there’s no telling what could happen. Car accident lawyers Columbus, GA in Columbus have seen more than their fair share of these types of accidents. Hopefully, with the new laws in place, this number will dwindle.
Georgia’s Hands-Free Law Prohibits Texting and Driving
Under the new law in Georgia, you’re not allowed to text and drive. In fact, you can’t even have a phone in your hands while you’re behind the wheel. No device can be supported by any part of body while you’re driving. You are allowed to use the following:
- Wireless headphones
- Phone through your navigation device or through your car
- Apple watch
You can use a GPS device in your car. That isn’t prohibited by the statute.
If you’re caught using a phone or other device in violation of the statute, you will be fined. The first fine is $50. The second one is $100. The third and any further violations are each $150. The problem is that the law really only includes fines. If someone’s caught 5 or 6 times, all they really have to do is continue to pay the fines. However, if they are cited at the time of your crash, it’s strong evidence that they were responsible for your crash.
How Can Your Columbus Accident Lawyer Prove the Other Driver Was Distracted?
One of the harder things to prove in a car accident case is fault. This can be even more difficult when your lawyer needs to prove the other driver was driving while distracted. Even if you see the other driver on their phone or doing something else immediately before the crash, it’s your word against theirs. The defendant surely isn’t going to admit that they were distracted. This is where your Columbus accident lawyer comes into play.
Your attorney is going to gather evidence to prove the other driver was distracted at the time of the accident. They can do this using several things, including:
- Phone records showing that they were texting or talking on the phone at the time of the crash
- Intersection cameras
- Dashcams in the other driver’s car
- Witness testimony
Your lawyer is going to do their best to prove the other drive was responsible for the accident.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer in Georgia if You’re Injured in a Distracted Driving Accident
If you’re one of the unlucky people injured in a distracted driving crash in Georgia, call our office right away. We have handled many cases just like yours. If the other driver was truly distracted at the time of the crash, you may be entitled to damages. The hard part is proving they were distracted. Even if they were using their cell phones when they hit you, it’s hard to pin down the exact moment of the collision. Thankfully, your Columbus car accident lawyer knows how to prove fault in cases like this.
Contact a Local Georgia Personal Injury Law Firm today and schedule your free initial consultation. If the other driver was cited for distracted driving at the time of the crash, you have a good chance of winning your case. Your attorney will gather evidence to prove that the other driver was at fault. They’ll fight to get you the compensation you deserve. Let our lawyers handle the insurance company while you focus on getting better. The defendant will have a lawyer working for them and you should too.